Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Preview

Replay! How to Write a High-Performing Personal Statement or College Essay

This workshop will teach you how to:

  • Build and leverage audience awareness

  • Cast a spell on your reader with your storytelling (and avoid breaking that spell)

  • Replace common anecdotes with unforgettable scenes and images

  • Establish high stakes and suspense

  • Turn generic summaries into individual characters

  • Show your stories rather than “telling” them

Applying these strategies to a personal statement or college essay will deliver a clear value proposition to an admissions committee.

If, after viewing this workshop, you would like to schedule a consultation or full coaching session, or if you’d like an estimate for my editing services, please see my website: www.joshuadolezal.com.

Testimonial from a recent client applying to PhD programs in the biosciences:

“Getting to work with you has seriously improved the quality of my writing and has also helped instill confidence in my work. I feel more prepared as I work through my other essay questions and statements, and that's a great feeling. I really appreciate your help.” — G.A.

NOTE: I offer this workshop in good faith that people won’t sign up for the video and then unsubscribe. If you prefer to purchase the workshop separately, you can do so here:

Buy workshop separately

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to The Recovering Academic to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

The Recovering Academic
The Recovering Academic
Authors
Joshua Doležal