4 Comments
Jan 13, 2023Liked by Joshua Doležal

I learned a ritual in graduate school. It helps with the transitions.

I used to work in coffee shops and wrote my entire dissertation in one.

Coffee has become my ritual. Throughout my life I've switched continents, civilizations, careers, class divides, ... my life is more about change than sameness. So I find rituals to be centering, and that includes finding "my" coffee shop, buying coffee, a doing work. The whole experience of finding one, getting to know the baristas, the daily trip, etc. is important to me. Even now, when that option is not available due to COVID concerns and escalating coffee prices, I perform the ritual in my office. It changes form.

Later, I learning artisanal furniture making, light construction, gardening, and landscaping as methods to help cope with the transitions of the academic life--going from job to job with little control over my employers or destinations. But nothing has displaced the ritual of coffee.

Expand full comment
author
Jan 13, 2023·edited Jan 13, 2023Author

Especially appreciate your point about how the coffee ritual survives by changing form. One of my favorite lines from Leslie Marmon Silko's novel Ceremony comes from a shaman named Betonie. He says, "Things that don't shift and grow are dead things." Betonie is the only healer who is able to help Tayo, a WWII veteran who is part Laguna Pueblo and part white. This is because Betonie makes changes to traditional ceremonies to account for changes in the world. The scale of destruction that Tayo has witnessed, the terrible power of nuclear war, far surpasses any conception of evil in indigenous stories. And so the ceremonies must be changed to match the evil they intend to cure.

Especially appreciate your point about how the coffee ritual survives by changing form. Earlier this year, I wrote about my running ritual. Almost immediately after I published that post I suffered a toe injury that I didn't allow to heal properly before leaping back into exercise. And so just before Christmas I discovered that I'd fractured a sesamoid bone in my foot. I probably have another six weeks yet before I'll be able to run again. Non-weight-bearing exercise still gives me some of what running did, but it's not the same. Resilience requires some adaptation. I suppose it's heartening that I haven't plunged into melancholy while I've been laid up -- maybe running wasn't as much of a crutch as I thought it was. But I'll be happy, indeed, when I can slip back into those shoes and hit the trail. Nothing like it!

Expand full comment

I was never into running ... but ...

I got through grad school by playing 3 soccer leagues simultaneously, including 1 FIFA registered league. Nothing mattered but the team and the moment on the field.

FYI, soccer running is vastly different than distance running.

Expand full comment

I’m there with you re: the coffee and especially the coffee shop. My “local” was the place where I got most of my best work finished, at least the first drafts. Now I live elsewhere and I’ve found pubs to be the replacement, but there is something about coffee in particular.

Expand full comment