9 Comments

I'm so happy to hear that you are talking to academic librarians. That is a group of people near and dear to me and you are correct that faculty issues are librarian issues.

Expand full comment
Jan 23, 2023Liked by Joshua Doležal

Thank you for the promise to focus on the lives and concerns of academic librarians. Many of the literature and writing students at the university from which I retired are now being encouraged to pursue degrees and work in library and information science, rather than in literature, as viable literature teaching positions are more and more difficult to find. I don't think that's necessarily a bad thing, but I wonder whether that's really good long-term advice for graduating students to follow, considering general trends in higher education. Obviously, what's happening in classrooms has a direct and immediate impact on the need for libraries and information retrieval. Thanks for anything you can do to highlight the connection--and the challenges!

Expand full comment
Feb 1, 2023Liked by Joshua Doležal

I have a request.

You've written that academia went well until the last 6 years. You've discussed the work pressures and family situation, but it sounds like there was more, a dissatisfaction with what the worklife was. Can you explore that in a post?

I'm asking because of my own disatisfaction (understatement) and, honestly, the few peers I have that are in this situation that I can openly talk to. You know the stigma.

Expand full comment
author

Thanks for this suggestion. I address some of this in the following post from last year, but there is plenty to circle back to on that front. Perhaps this could be an experiment for a private Friday thread, which I could then use as a touchstone for a longer post.

https://joshuadolezal.substack.com/p/how-much-why-do-you-see-in-your-work

Expand full comment
Jan 29, 2023Liked by Joshua Doležal

I would love a "paywall enables more sensitive threads" Friday dealie for subscribers, but I am also at some 'sensitive' moments in my career right now and am thus biased.

Expand full comment
author

Thanks! If you have any topics in mind for such a thread, I'm open to suggestions here or privately at dolezaljosh@gmail.com.

Expand full comment

Glad to see you're collaborating with Sam at Castalia! He's eclectic in his tastes and unlimited in his scope, which makes for great reading.

At this early point, is there anything specific you can say about Inner Life other than "open conversations"? Iowa seems to take the e-zine by collective tact, which is something I'm excited to see more on the platform.

Expand full comment
author

Thanks for your interest, Kevin! We'll try to lay everything out in our launch post, aiming for Feb 3, and then we'll be posting twice weekly, on Tuesdays and Fridays. Still determining some of the other particulars, but Mary, Sam, and I will be regular contributors, and each week we'll also feature someone else. It's an experiment, and we'll see how it goes!

Expand full comment

That sounds great, I'll keep an eye out for anything at all on February 3.

Expand full comment